My Top Four Add-Ons

I’ve read, researched, and studied…and these are my “TOP FOUR” add-ons (essentially the “nutritional supplements” I feed my children)

1.  Kale- I try to feed this to my children every other day.  After steaming, pureeing, and freezing kale, I add a kale cube to warmed up apple sauce, into spaghetti sauce, scrambled eggs, or soup.  The possibilities are endless really.  My son’s favorite is pureed pears and kale 🙂  When kale is on sale, my daughter and I make cheesy kale chips.  However, our “cheese” is nutritional yeast, soon to be featured in #2.  (Making cheesy kale chips is easy…wash and dry the kale, break it into chip-sized pieces, toss with olive oil, salt, and nutritional yeast.  Bake for 8-10 minutes at 350 degrees).

2.  Nutritional yeast (AKA nutri yeast)- SO yummy!  We put it on everything to add a cheesy, nutty flavor.  Find it at the health food store next to Brewer’s yeast.  It is best on sliced avocado, and simply great on spaghetti.  I sprinkle it on diced avocado to help my babies grip their first finger food.  We seriously add it to everything because it’s full of B vitamins!

3. Flax seed- I call this my breakfast booster. These little seeds are full of Omega-3, antioxidants, and fiber. I buy the brown flax seeds in bulk and grind about two cups at a time, keeping them in an easily accessible ziploc in the fridge.  Every morning it’s stirred in to oatmeal or yogurt; it’s sprinkled onto a slice of toast with almond butter or sprinkled onto cereal or granola. Like nutritional yeast, when my babies start to do finger foods like slippery banana or mango, I sprinkle the flaxseed over the diced pieces to make them easier to grip.

4. Molasses- This thick, black tar is actually full of iron, magnesium, and Vitamin B6.  My kids beg for more as we put it on top of goat yogurt for breakfast.  It’s not complete unless mommy attempts to make a picture of Charlie Brown, Snoopy, or Linus out of molasses.  Don’t ask me how that tradition got started.  😉

2 thoughts on “My Top Four Add-Ons

  1. Awesome! We really think alike! did you see my kale oatmeal on facebook? I’ve been taking molasses too pretty much daily. I should try adding more nutritional yeast into our diet. Thanks LJ! -Erin

    • Hi Erin, I loved your post about kale oatmeal on facebook! What a great idea! We certainly do think alike 🙂 My little Harmony loves oatmeal so I’m going to try that. I think Caed would love it too. In fact, (proud mommy moment) he ate a WHOLE head of steamed broccoli for breakfast the other day. That’s seriously how much he loves broccoli!
      Hope you’re doing well 🙂
      lj

Leave a Reply

