The. Best. Snack.

I’ve discovered the best snack.  Kid-approved. Homemade.  Easy. Healthy. And…gone in the blink of an eye (it’s that good…)

All you need are sweet potatoes, coconut oil, and cinnamon.

IMG_5773

I cut the sweet potatoes into sticks.  Drizzle with coconut oil. Sprinkle with cinnamon.  Cook at 375 degrees for 40-45 minutes (timing depends on how thick your sticks are).  Stir the sticks half way through cooking time.

I will prepare six sweet potatoes, and between the four of us we will finish them off in two days.  They’ve been a great finger food for my baby and an excellent school snack for my daughter.  We eat them with our lunches too.  I told my husband that I’m making a ton of these and freezing them when sweet potatoes are on sale during the holidays.

What I love about this snack is it’s full of nutrition.  Sweet potatoes beat out white potatoes.  Cinnamon is excellent for blood health and gum health.

I’ve tried over the years to make crispy sweet potato fries…even coating them with egg whites to achieve “crispiness.”  Nothing has worked.  I gave up.  But, I’m very pleased with my new invention: sweet potato sticks!  Enjoy!

One thought on “The. Best. Snack.

  1. Pingback: Preschool Snack Challenge | mishmashmusing

Leave a Reply

