Vinegar: My Best Friend

When it comes to cleaning my house, I choose pure and simple.   I guess you can say I’m a naturalist.  As natural as it gets is vinegar.

My husband thought I was crazy, that when we melded our two living quarters in marriage, I came armed with vinegar and baking soda, and he with traditional cleaners.  In the battle of the cleaners, vinegar won, and my husband has been converted.  Vinegar is just better, much safer.  It’s better to land on your skin, to soak into your hands, and safer to breathe. With my little ones around, I feel they are safer around vinegar-based cleaning too.  That is important to me.

Vinegar has thousands of uses! I love it!  I’ll list my favorites here:

Toilets:  recreate that 4th grade volcano science project! The volcano in the toilet is effective.  Don’t worry, it doesn’t have a volcanic overflow. I put about two tablespoons of baking soda in, followed by about a 1/2 cup of vinegar. (These are estimates. Usually I eyeball it.)  Then it foams (the fun part!), and I brush it clean.

Disinfecting: I soak a rag and wipe down kitchen counter tops, especially after preparing meat dishes.

Mirrors: A paper towel moistened with vinegar is excellent for cleaning mirrors!  Sometimes, I wipe down the mirror with a dry bath towel, but typically, that’s not needed. Vinegar dries streak free.

Coffee cup stains: If you have a coffee cup that is plagued with coffee stains, fill the cup with 1/2 vinegar and 1/2 water.  Let it soak overnight.  Stain is gone. Voila!

Bad odor: For a bad smell in the kitchen sink, pour 1/2 cup or 1 cup of vinegar down the drain.  Let it sit for at least 30 minutes before running the water again.

Sinks: Again baking soda and vinegar are teammates.  Put a small pile of baking soda in the sink.  Add vinegar to make a paste then scrub away.  I rinse it off with more vinegar or just water.

Toothpaste holder:  Sprinkle baking soda all over the holder then add vinegar.  Let it sit.  Return to rinse it off and find all of the crusted, dry toothpaste remnants gone!

Floors: Fill a bucket with hot, steaming water.  Add 1 cup vinegar per 1 gallon of water.  Use your mop of choice to clean kitchen and bathroom floors.

Simply said, vinegar is my best friend, my best cleaning friend.  It’s safe because it’s simply so natural.  For heaven’s sake, vinegar is edible! I use the same huge jug of vinegar in recipes.  Finally, vinegar has been very cost-effective for our family.  What’s easier than a household cleaner that’s natural, safe, cheap, and has so many uses in just one bottle?

 

Leave a Reply

